Student Program 

Reduced Symposium Registration

IMAPS offers students a reduced registration fee for IMAPS 2001. The cost for students to attend the Full Symposium is $10 for Members and $15 for Non-members (before September 4, 2001); $20 for members and $25 for Non-members after the deadline. Your registration includes the Plenary Session, Technical Sessions, Exhibits, Welcome Reception, Exhibit Hall Lunches, 2001 Proceedings (printed & CD-ROM versions) and an automatic one-year IMAPS Membership renewal. 

IMAPS/NSF is also offering a Special PDC Course (M13) to students only free of charge. See last page of PDC Information for more details.

Professional Development Course (PDC) Monitors, October 7 - 8, 2001

There will be 23 PDC courses during IMAPS 2001. One monitor will be assigned to each PDC. PDCs are scheduled on Sunday, October 7 and Monday, October 8 and run from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Course monitors assist PDC instructors (distribute handouts, monitor lights, collect evaluations, etc…) and in return may monitor the course at no charge. Monitors will receive free course materials (not including textbooks) and lunch on the day of their PDC offering. PDC monitors will receive no financial compensation. Monitors will be assigned on a first-come, first-served basis. Sign up early to ensure the PDC of your choice. Please email Doug Paul ( with your top three choices.

Best Student Paper, October 9 – 11, 2001

A review committee will attend all technical presentations by student authors, to evaluate and determine the Best Student Paper. The student will be evaluated on presentation skills, audience interaction and technical knowledge. A portion of the credit will be dedicated to the written portion of the manuscript. The winning student will receive a certificate and recognition in Advancing Microelectronics.

Student Chapter Booth Competition, Tuesday, October 9, 2001, 9:00 am – 11:00 am

Each student chapter is encouraged to enter a booth and exhibit on the main floor. These booths are free to student chapters and allow chapters to demonstrate their activities to the microelectronics industry. Chapters will be evaluated, by a panel of judges, on various criteria including, but not limited to - general appearance and appeal of the display, diversity of display (curriculum, activities, and projects), knowledge of critical issues with the program offered in the institution, sound technical awareness, eye contact, enthusiasm, appearance, ability to address questions and feedback provision. Recognition will be given to the Best Student Chapter Booth at the Student/Industry Reception on Tuesday, October 9, 2001. (Instructions on the booth specifications will be available at a later date.)

Student/Industry Panel, Tuesday, October 9, 2001, 4:00 pm – 5:30 pm

The panel will have invited guests ranging from industry professionals, industry recruiters, to educators describing how their education, interests and career experiences led to their current positions. It will also provide an opportunity for students to learn what industry expectations are and how to start their long-term career development. The panel participants will include George Harman - NIST, Dr. David L. Wilcox – Motorola, Inc., Dr. W. Kinzy Jones - Florida International University, Dr. Paul Collander - Nokia Networks, and Dr. Charles E. Bauer - TechLead Corporation. Each panelist will speak for 10 – 15 minutes. Students will then have the ability to  participate in a Q & A session with the panelists.

Student/Industry Reception, Tuesday, October 9, 2001, 5:30 pm – 6:30 pm

Students will have a chance to network and talk one-on-one with each other and the panelists. Refreshments will be served. Announcement of Best Student Chapter Booth will also take place during the event. With all this planned for students, it would be a shame if you missed out on the excitement! For more information, please visit the IMAPS webpage – 


2000 - 2001
IMAPS Educational Foundation Grant Recipients

Rokan Ahmad
Columbia University

Daniel M. Bennett
Brigham Young University

Jane E. Clayton
Iowa State University

Richard E. Eitel
Penn State

Dean M. Goedde
University of Illinois at Urbana/Champaign

Jeffrey Haeni
Penn State University

Theron Lewis
Iowa State University

James Pyland
Georgia Institute of Technology

David C. Reichenbacher
University of Wisconsin-Madison/Thermal Spray Technologies, Inc.

Jason Sternhagen
South Dakota State University

Lejun Wang
Georgia Institute of Technology

Return to the advanced program index page

Questions or comments about our site?