Members Only
Events Calendar
Online Store
Global Business Council
Industry News
IMAPS Microelectronics Foundation
Contact Us

IMAPS - Advanced Technology Workshop on

Ceramic Applications for Microwave
and Photonic Packaging

The Westin Providence
Providence, Rhode Island
May 2-3, 2002


General Chair:  
Dr. Peter Barnwell
Heraeus Incorporated
Salisbury, UK
P: 610-825-6050; F: 610-825-7061

 Technical Chair:  
Dr. Samuel J. Horowitz
DuPont Microcircuit Materials 
RTP, NC 27709
P: 919-248-5752; F: 919-248-5717


Co-sponsored by:

International Microelectronics And Packaging Society (IMAPS)

Ceramic Interconnect Initiative (CII)

Register On-line and $ave $50

Exhibit Information/Reservations  

View List of Exhibiting Companies

View Online Floorplan

Get your FREE Exhibits Pass (PDF) 

Wednesday, May 1
Registration: 4:30 pm – 7 pm
Opening Reception: 6:30 pm – 7:30 pm

Thursday, May 2
Registration: 7 am – 5:30 pm
Continental Breakfast: 7:30 am – 8 am

Opening Remarks: 8 am – 8:30 am
Peter Barnwell & Samuel J. Horowitz

Keynote Speaker: 
David L. Wilcox, Sr., Manny Oliver, Motorola, Inc.

8:30 am – 9 am
Title: LTCC, an Interconnect Technology Morphing into a Strategic Microsystem Integration Technology

Session 1: Design
9 am – 10:30 am
Session Chair: John Gipprich, Northrup Grumman

Sharing Experiences on Reducing Gaps between Simulation and Measurement in a Design Process
Ali Nadir Arslan, Ilkka Kelander, Ville Hurskainen, Olli Salmela, Nokia Research Center

Design of LTCC Devices for RF Circuit Applications
J. H. Jean, W. T. Lo, Advanced Ceramic X (ACX) Corp.

The Harmonic-suppressed Filter Fabricated by Low Temperature Co-fired Ceramic Technology
Wen-Hsi Lee, C.W. Tang, C.T. Tseng, F.T. Shiao, C.H. Lin, Phycomp Taiwan Ltd.

Break in the Exhibit Hall: 10:30 am – 11 am

Session 2: Power and Thermal Management

11 am – 12:30 pm
Session Chair: Susan Trulli, Astex, Inc.

New Thick Film System on AlN Substrates
Yueli Wang, A. F. Carroll, J.D. Smith, Y. Cho, R.J. Bacher, D.K. Anderson, J.C. Crumpton, C.R.S. Needes, DuPont iTechnologies

Thin Film Processing of Aluminum Nitride for Microwave Power Applications
Theodore Datri, Steve Evangelista, John Roman, Film Microelectronics Inc.

High Density Thermal Vias in Low Temperature Cofire Ceramic (LTCC)
W. Kinzy Jones, Marc Zampino, Ravindra Kandukuri, Yanquin Liu, Florida International University

Lunch: 12:30pm – 1:30pm

Session 3: RF & Wireless

1:30 pm – 3:30 pm
Session Chair: John Roman, Film Microelectronics Inc.

LTCC Based Front-End Receiver for U-NII Band Applications
Fred D. Barlow, Minh Van, Aicha Elshabini, University of Arkansas

Optimized LTCC Multi-Layer Stack-ups for RF and Microwave Modules
J.P. Lemonnier, O. Friquet, N. Gosselin, Thales Microsonics

LTCC Based 2.4 GHz Power Amplifiers for Class 1 Bluetooth Applications
Fred D. Barlow, Istak Ahmmed, Aicha Elshabini, University of Arkansas

Assessment of Integrated Filters for Millimeter Waves
Olli Koistinen, Petri Nyberg, Kari Koivunen, Nokia Corporation

Break in the Exhibit Hall: 3:30 pm – 4 pm

Session 4: Broadband & Photonics

4 pm – 5:30 pm
Session Chair: Alan Lyons, Lucent Bell Laboratories

RF and Optical Circuits with Thick Film Technology offer Improved Performance
Clark M. Steddom, Juan L. Sepulveda, Circuits Processing Technology

Design and Characterization of Broadband Transmission Lines on Low Loss LTCC
S. Shih, A. Becker, Y. Lee, A. M. Lyons, Lucent Bell Laboratories

Embedded Capacitors for LTCC Applications above 20 GHz
Jens Mueller, Daniel Josip, Micro Systems Engineering GmbH; Thomas Mller, EADS Deutschland GmbH

Reception in the Exhibit Hall: 5:30pm – 7:30pm

Friday, May 3
Registration: 7 am – 4:30 pm
Continental Breakfast: 7:30am – 8am

Session 5: LTCC

8 am – 10 am
Session Chair: Mike Ehlert, National Semiconductor

Advantages of Photo Imageable LTCC for Fabricating Ceramic Packages
Barry E. Taylor, Larry Bidwell, Angela Lawrence, Tim Mobley, Dan Amey, DuPont iTechnologies

Microwave Properties of Low-Temperature Co-fired Ceramic (LTCC) Systems
Richard Geyer, NIST; Liang Chai, Aziz Shaikh, Vern Stygar, Ferro

Designing with HeraLockTM 2000 Self-constrained LTCC Tape
Edmar Amaya, Peter Barnwell, Brent Smith, Frans Lautzenhiser, Heraeus CMD

Low Loss High Definition Conductor Line in LTCC
Laurent Boyer, J.P. Bertinet, J.P. Cazenave, H. Martino, S. Denis, Thales Microelectronics S. A.

Break in the Exhibit Hall: 10 am – 10:30 am

Session 6: Materials

10:30 am – Noon
Session Chair: Paul Collander, Nokia

Design and Characterization of Microwave LTCC modified by High Permittivity Glasses
Markus Eberstein, W. Schiller, Federal Institute for Materials Research and Testing; K.-H. Dre, H. Thust, Technical University of Ilmen

Modeling of Anisotropic Shrinkage During Sintering of Low Temperature Cofired Ceramic Tapes
John E. Blendell, Mark R. Locatelli, Jay S. Wallace, Bernard J. Hockey, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Materials and Process Concepts for Integrated Passive Components
Michael T. Lanagan, Dean Anderson, Amanda Baker, Tom Shrout, Clive Randall, The Pennsylvania State University

Lunch: Noon – 1 pm

Session 7: Test and Measurement Part I
1 pm – 2:30 pm
Session Chair: Mike Janezic, NIST

The Design and Application of Finite Ground Coplanar Waveguide (CPW) Resonators for Materials Characterization up to 50 GHz
Rhonda Franklin Drayton, Can Akgun, University of Minnesota; Daniel Amey, Timothy Mobley, DuPont Microcircuit Materials

High Frequency Materials Characterization using Split-Cylinder and Split- Post Measurement Techniques
Timothy P. Mobley, Daniel I. Amey, DuPont Microcircuit Materials; Michael D. Janezic, James Baker-Jarvis, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Dielectric Measurement Techniques and their Implications for the Microwave Circuit Designer
Charles E. Free, Middlesex University; Zhengrong Tian, Peter Barnwell, Heraeus CMD

Break in the Exhibit Hall: 2:30 pm – 3 pm

Session 8: Test and Measurement Part II
3 pm – 4 pm
Session Chair: Mike Janezic, NIST

Nondestructive Permittivity Measurements of Low-Loss Substrates
Jerzy Krupka, Instytut Mikroelektroniki i Optoelektroniki Politechniki Warszawskiej; Michael Janezic,

Microstrip Losses at Millimeter Wave Frequencies
Liang Chai, Aziz Shaikh, Vern Stygar, Ferro Electronic Materials; Richard Geyer, NIST

Concluding Remarks: 4 pm – 4:30 pm
Peter Barnwell & Samuel J. Horowitz

Register On-line and $ave $50

Exhibit Information/Reservations  

View List of Exhibiting Companies

View Online Floorplan

Get your FREE Exhibits Pass (PDF) 


© Copyright 2010 IMAPS - All Rights Reserved
IMAPS-International Microelectronics And Packaging Society and The Microelectronics Foundation
611 2nd Street, N.E., Washington, D.C. 20002
Phone: 202-548-4001

<% rsCategory.Close() Set rsCategory = Nothing %>